Posted on

When Your Friend’s Girlfriend Maybe Makes a Move

Here’s the skinny.  A friend of mine and his wife were having a party at their home this past weekend.  Another friend of mine who would be attending the party with his girlfriend asked me to pick her up at his place, which is not far from mine.  He was working late and was using her car because his was in the shop.  Then he would meet us at the party.  I’ve met her before.  Sh’s nice.  But she’s one of those girls that makes you seam suspicious of her.  She gives off a a sneaky vibe.

I pick her up.  Conversation in the car was pretty normal.  Except that she kept telling me that I need to get a girlfriend so we can all (mutual friends)  go out together and I won’t be the fifth wheel.  I hate when someone makes a comment like that to me.  She kept rattling off friends she wanted to hook me up with.  Anyway, we get to the party.  Everything’s fine.  Everyone’s drinking and having a good time.  I was sitting on the couch.  I was rubbing my neck because I slept on it wrong the night before.  All of a sudden, I feel hands massaging my neck.  I turn and it’s my buddies girlfriend.  Now, I’m not a scumbag in any way.  And even if I was, I wouldn’t let a friend’s girl start rubbing me in the middle of a party.  That’s disrespectful.  I push her hands off and tell her I’m good.  She told ME it’s fine and that I looked like I needed some loosening up.

Later on in the night, I’m talking to a group of people and I feel hands on my neck again.  I shook them off and turned.  It was my buddies GF again.  I gave her a dirty look.  Then she tries to make it out to the other people standing there that I’m a weirdo for throwing her hands off and not taking neck rub.

I wanted to to go right to my buddy and tell him what happened.  On my way, I was stopped by hostess of the party who saw what transpired the second time and asked me what was up.  I told her.  She told me that she didn’t like the GF either, but not to tell our friend.  She said that maybe she had a little too much to drink and was just being flirty.  So I backed off and let it go.

It’s still on my mind.  I know some times women do get touchy feely and flirty when they drink.  And my friend does seem to really like her and I don’t want to upset him.  But my gut is usually right.  I think she is sneaky and who knows what she could be doing behind his back.  Further more, he is a little gullible, especially with women.  He has a soft heart and is really easy going and laid back.  Sometimes, too much for his own good.

What do my wonderful followers think.  Should I say something to him?

 

12 responses to “When Your Friend’s Girlfriend Maybe Makes a Move

  1. If he is big-time into her and you say something, she will say whatever she needs to say to make you into the bad guy. The only option is to to wait until he sees the light. You might have to avoid being around her if she keeps it up.

    The movie Appaloosa comes to mind.

  2. Bonnie ⋅

    It might be good to casually say something. If you leave it and it happens again further down the line she may turn it around and say you initiated it. She could try and turn your friend against you. Just mention how touchy feely some people get when they are drunk and see what he says.

  3. I’d give her the benefit of the doubt and let this one slide, but if anything else occurs along the same lines I’d probably just give your friend a heads up. Just my opinion.

  4. Eww, that’s awkward. If I were in your situation, I’d probably do my best to stay out of it. Giving friends relationship advice can be so tricky. You want the best for your friend, I’m sure, but being honest and giving advice can also lead to resentment if he doesn’t see things the same way. Maybe it’s best to let him make his own mistakes and learn from the heartache and pain? If he ever asks for your opinion of her, I think you should be honest, but I’m not sure you should be the one to bring it up. Something else to consider is how open he is to receiving advice or criticism. If he’s the defensive type, just stay out of it and let him learn his lessons.

    • Thanks for the comment. I don’t have any experience in this area. I am going to stay out of it. I’ve heard of people in similar situations where one friend says something about the other friend’s bf or gf and the friend gets angry at the friend because of it. I think you know what I mean:)

  5. This is a tough one. If you say something to your friend you run the risk of him having to take sides, which is never good. My suggestion is to wait it out. It sounds like maybe she just had too much to drink and got a little touchy feely. If she’s dishonest with your friend, most likely it will come out on its own.

  6. This is a hard situation; I’ve been in a similar one. You’d probably be best not saying anything to your friend, because it seems like his gf is a manipulative psycho. Though your friends would have your back, you still risk making your friend feel crappy. If she keeps putting the moves on you, then you’ll have to speak up. But if she doesn’t, surely the fact that she’s a creeper will come out to your friend all on its own.

  7. This kind of decision is always the worst! I have told my good friends up front that if they know something about a guy I am dating, good or bad, they better tell me. I personally do not want to be standing around looking like a dumb ass while the guy I am dating is getting handsy with my friends. I think it depends on your level of friendship with the person though. If it is a total BFF, I would tell, but if it’s just a casual friend I would probably keep my mouth shut for fear it would backfire. Good luck!

Leave a comment