Posted on

Thank You Follow Up

First off, THANK YOU to those that offered your opinions about the “thank you” post.

In the most non confrontational way, I brought it up after dinner at a quiet bar over a cocktail.  I flat out asked her why she doesn’t say “thank you” when someone does something for her.  I didn’t say there was something bothering me.  It was a straight up question. She said she thinks it in her head, but that she gets caught up in the moment when the action is happening and forgets to say it, sometimes.  (Never in my presence has she said it.)  She said she needs to say it.  Okay fine.  She smiles and I think to myself that I’m going to let it go.

But then she says someone brought it up to her before.  I wanted to ask why she didn’t start saying it after that.  But I didn’t.  I thought I will wait and see if she starts saying it.  It wasn’t too awkward.  I felt like it should have been though, for her.  I’m wondering if it hit home with her.  Or because I made it easy and didn’t get into how I feel it’s manners 101 and common sense to say it, that she didn’t think I thought it was a big deal when I do in fact think it’s kind of a big deal.  

 I’ll keep everyone posted on what happens.  THANK YOU for reading this:)

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “Thank You Follow Up

  1. Kudos to you for bringing it up! And in such a way it wasn’t awkward. I’m wondering if someone brought it up before why she doesn’t try to make a conscious effort to say it now. This is very interesting. It shouldn’t be such a chore to say Thank You. I can’t wait to see how this all turns out. Do keep us posted.

  2. maryfreemannyc ⋅

    Well that is weird that someone has mentioned it to her before and she didn’t change…..wtf?! :-). I certainly hope she starts saying it now!

  3. Manda

    Yeah, good for you for bringing it up and getting it out of the way! Now that two people have brought it up to her, it might make her more conscious of what she’s doing (or not doing). To be realistic, though, most people are slow to change their behavior and often won’t do so until something is at stake. I guess you’ll have to wait and see what happens…

  4. ReginaMae

    I’ve nominated you for a Lovely Blog Award. 🙂 Reading your blog makes me feel like I’m sneaking into the enemy camp for intel!

  5. Sounds like you may have a little of the “blinded by the lust” thing going on. It seems to me this is something that’s quite important to you, but you seem willing to let it go? I am curious as to why?

  6. Ohhhh k… half of me wants to agree with you that this is weird, half of me wants to scream, “Seriously?!?” Given that basic manners are important, careful before you scrap this one. Attractive, intelligent, and obviously into you (based on the multiple dates)? Don’t dismiss her just because she has A flaw. Like, ONE thing you’ve noticed. Re: your previous posts on crazy, this one sounds like a gem. And…while I love to poll the blogosphere as much as the next person, let’s be real here — the previous commenter described one of her prospects as “Fuckalicious” (not a rip, just an observation). Just sayin’. One persons bad manners is anothers… Blog fodder.

  7. Damn. One of my favourite things to say is “thankyou”. Even if someone says “thankyou” to me first.
    “no no no thank YOU”

    Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

