Posted on

Bitter, Party Of 1.

I had a date with a girl last night from OKStupid. (We’ll get to why I’m calling it that a little later.)  We had talked on the phone twice earlier this week and had decent conversations.  Nothing the blew my hair back about them.  She sounded a little standoffish.  But she also sounded intelligent and looked attractive in her pics.  Cocktails and a bite to eat, why not?

Name on the list.  30 minute wait.  Into the bar for drinks.  Our conversations were light on the phone.  It got heavy and deep real quick in person, which was fine.  The problem was she would ask me questions about certain subjects that I would answer.  But when I asked her the same things, she didn’t want to answer.  She would turn the question back around on me again.  Then, she would knock my answers.  

I started to get a little uncomfortable and it just wasn’t going well.  I think she sensed this and she said, “It seems like you can’t take the heat, do you want to get out of the kitchen?”  I said that I can take the heat, but this kitchen just isn’t really my style.  To which she said, “You’re not really my style either.  Guys like you are why the site should be called OKStupid.”  Then she launched into a short spiele about how she can’t find someone on her level of intelligence… blah, blah, blah.  Just then the hostess came up to us.  Paul party of 2.  I said you can change that to bitter party of 1.  I threw down the money for our drinks and walked.  

Now I don’t claim to be a rocket scientist.  But I have a brain and know how to use it.  But when she made the OkStupid remark, I took a little offense to it as I don’t liked to be lumped into any type of group with that kind of negative connotation attached to it. At the time I was also a little pissed at myself because I broke one of my online dating codes which is if it’s kind of awkward on the phone, it’s probably not going to be good in person.  That’s just the experiences I’ve had and this last date totally validated that.

I don’t think I was wrong in walking out.  But I’m wondering, how do other people handle dates that aren’t going well.  Do you stick it out?  Or do leave when it becomes unbearable?

Back to the online drawing board.

 

 

12 responses to “Bitter, Party Of 1.

  1. Hmm… sounds like a tough call! Maintaining personal grace in that type of “personal attack” situation is usually the most satisfying revenge, but you could have always said something along the lines of, “It’s interesting you should mention intelligence, I just read an article in the Wall Street Journal about Mensa scholars and how the smarter an individual happens to be, the less likely they are to point out their intellectual superiority in conversation.” Just to mess with her 😉

  2. I’m not even sure where to start Paul. Wow. That was a really good lesson though, If it’s awkward on the phone, it probably won’t get better. I’ve gone out on some awkward dates too, I usually sit through them like an idiot. I’m inspired that you left.

  3. New Single Guy ⋅

    Wow. That totally sucks dude. :\

    Bravo for leaving though. I would probably have stuck it out anyway.

    • Someone else on here said the same thing. I was going to until she became unbearably rude. I’m starting to feel bad about it now though. I don’t know if I did the right thing.

      • fi ⋅

        You definitely did the right thing. It wasn’t going to get any better and why spend your time with an unpleasant person. Its a shame you felt you had to pay for her drink before you left – I’d have just paid for mine then walked. 🙂

      • I just said my piece and threw down the cash and walked. It was one smooth action:)

  4. You were right to walk. Color her Ungrateful.
    I look forward to reading and comparing notes.
    I’ve got some pretty good first date stories myself!

  5. I’m sorry you had to go through something so uncomfortable, but I had to laugh at your reply… Bitter… Party of 1… That’s… priceless! I wish I could think that quickly on my feet… my comebacks are usually a dollar short and a day late. And you are absolutely right… if the conversation on the phone is questionable… the real life version usually isn’t any better. Although… I have had the experience where a guy was charming, hilarious and intelligent on the phone and had the personality of a sponge in person… go figure. Good luck! Don’t lose hope… You never know what’s around the next bend 😉

  6. Mike T ⋅

    There is no excuse for being insulting on a date by a guy or girl. You were right to walk out. Hopefully, she learned from it.

Leave a Reply

